Lowered Fat Blueberry Muffins–with Reduced Sugar Options

Note: 3/10/09 — Welcome link love followers. I am having Freebie Days, now through 3/15. Feel free to come back daily and check them out. Or peek at the Freebie Category on the right.

–Neighbor Nancy

Now, back to our regularly scheduled post…


Oh, hi! I didn’t see you there. I’m glad you stopped by for a visit.

You have a little something on your cheek there.

Oh dear, I see. And just how many Philadelphia Sticky Buns did you have?

Oh, my!

Well that’s okay. Tomorrow is a new day. How ’bout I share with you a lower fat recipe?

“Lowered fat” Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

2 cups Flour

1/2 cup Sugar

1 Tablespoon Baking Powder

1/2 teaspoon Salt

1 Egg (even better — substitute 2 egg white for the 1 egg)

1 cup Milk (Have you made the switch to non fat dry milk yet?)

1 cup Blueberries, fresh or frozen

1/4 cup unsweetened Applesauce

Optional: 2 Tablespoons orange zest

Optional: 1 teaspoon Vanilla

Optional: cinnamon or apple pie spice to taste

Procedure:

1. In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients.

That is the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and perhaps the optional orange zest and/or spices

2. In a small bowl, mix the wet ingredients.

That’s the egg, milk, blueberries, applesauce and vanilla.

3. Add the wet ingredients bowl to the dry.

Now here is the important part and it holds true for any quick bread I can think of.

Don’t over mix them or they will have a hockey puck-like texture. You want it to be just blended.

I kind of fold the dry ingredients in. Meaning: scrape your spatula around the edge of the bowl and finish at the center, giving the bowl a quarter turn each time. By the time you count 20 and no more than 25 “scrapings,” it should be properly blended.

4. Fill each greased muffin cup about 2/3 full.

5. Lick the spatula and toss it in the sink. Life is short.

6. Bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit ( a fast oven) for about 20-25ish minutes.

They should be well risen, golden brown and when you insert a toothpick or knife, it should come out clean, but steamy.

Options:

Darn near sugar free: swap the sugar for a heat stable sugar substitute like Splenda. If you’re a diabetic, remember to take into account the natural sugars of the blueberries and applesauce.

About ten minutes into baking … before the tops are “set” sprinkle a little extra orange zest on each top. It over cooks if you add it too early.

If you haven’t successfully switched Non Fat Dry Milk, click here.

Well, that’s all I can think of. I’m sorry about your sugar hangover from all those sticky buns you ate. I hope this helps.

What is you favorite fat reducing or sugar reducing trick?


The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kitewrite.wordpress.com/2009/03/06/lowered-fat-blueberry-muffins-with-reduced-sugar-options/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] 7. Have a cuppa coffee while you visit and look at this lowered fat Blueberry Muffin recipe. […]

  2. Thank you! HUG

  3. (Neighbor Nancy blushes and hands you a Philadelphia sticky bun without raisins.)
    I would love to be one of your links. I am thrilled you enjoy my writing. Someday, I will get the courage to publish. You know, for actual money. For now, this is my daily disciplined practice.
    Thank you so much for stopping by.
    Better take another sticky bun for the road.

  4. Your posts are so warm and friendly and highly entertaining. This is how I am learning to write mine. I’m an intern at familyfoodies.com and have been looking for food blogs. May I add you in my link love this week? I hope so, you’re a doll!


Leave a Reply

