A Ton of Garden, A Tiny Space: Ideas for Space

Well, hello there. I hope you are well this evening.

Me? Oh, I’ve been cooking up some ideas.

I’m worried … about my friends and neighbors loosing their jobs.

(sigh)

Let’s not dwell on the negative. Let’s see what we can do to improve things. I’ll not have anyone going to bed hungry on my watch. Let’s get busy.

( Neighbor Nancy straightens her apron with resolve and heads to her potting table)

I encourage you to grow a little something. Sure, a lot of something would be great, but not always feasible.

Tonight, let’s focus on the sunny window of the apartment dweller.

For the apartment dweller:

1. Consider a community garden.

Check with your local church, library, school, etc. for information.

2. If a neighbor has some ground, offer them some of your harvest in return for using the space.

3. Ask you employer about planting any unused land around your workplace.

Point out that it would be less for a grounds keeper to worry over. Any sunny spot, even the grassy area between parking rows would work just fine.

4. Do a little container gardening in a sunny window.

With about 6 hours of good sunlight, you could try:

Alibi cucumbers are a good container cuke, growing to only 3 or 4 inches. A window box of leafy greens can provide a lot of nutrition in a small space. A single 12″ pot can grow a regular tomato or pepper plant or about seven prolific soybean ( edamame ) plants. Bush Delicata is a popular winter squash that was bred with the container gardener in mind. There are special compact container peppers, such as Mohawk or Apache Hot.

5. How about the rooftop? If it’s flat who could you ask for permission?

6. Consider “geurilla gardening”.

Okay, so this may be … well … tricky. The basic idea is that you plant public land — a nearby park perhaps. I have no advice on this. So, you’ll just have to check with your favorite search engine.

Start your adventure. Plant some food, whether for yourself or a neighbor. Dig in!

More sunny window links:

A Ton of Garden, a Tiny Space: Strawberries for the Apartment Dweller or Suburbanite —just what to grow them in

A Ton of Garden, a Tiny Space: Choosing the Right Strawberries for You — A little help choosing

Windowsill Herbs

What are you going to grow? And for whom?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kitewrite.wordpress.com/2009/03/08/a-ton-of-garden-a-tiny-space-looking-for-space/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. East coast, zone 5. Haven’t gardened, since I stopped writing, but… hopefully next summer I’ll tackle a little, rocky quarter acre again. This time with raised beds perhaps. Thanks for dropping by!!

  2. How many acres do u garden? And where? East coast?

  3. Thank you for your nice comment.
    Your English is doing well. I am lucky if I can manage just English. I can’t speak any other language, except for a few German curses passed down from my grandfather.
    I know it takes courage to speak or write in a language that is new to you, so I REALLY appreciate that you took the time to comment!
    (Neighbor Nancy hands you a warm chocolate chip cookie in thanks)
    Please visit again soon.
    Nan

  4. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language šŸ˜‰
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  5. You’ve given me a lot of ‘food for thot’ and no pun intended! I live in the desert south west where the ground is hard as cement and I can’t keep anything watered long enough before it wilts. But container gardening in sunny windows…. now that’s a fresh idea! I think I’ll be doing some planning!


Leave a Reply

