Sour Dough Challenge: Waitin’ and Peekin’

Good morning. I’m so glad you could join me today.

Grab a cup of coffee and a warm muffin from the basket and join me to peek at how the sour dough starter is coming.

Well, I lifted the cloth to take a peek. It almost has the smoothness you might see in a brand new tub of cottage cheese. Almost lumpy, but still flat. Okay, and beige, instead of white.

Also there is a bit of liquid on the surface, slightly brownish in color. Anyone know if that’s okay? I mean the color of the liquid.

Most importantly, it smells like yeast. I didn’t stir it (am I supposed to or not?), but did move it to a warmer location in the living room, I noticed the area it was in for about 7 hours was around 72 degrees instead of the recommended 85.

hmm….

Dear Santa,

I have tried to be a very good girl and would like a camera for Christmas.

Anyway,

Anybody have any thoughts on what I’m seeing?

Did you start yours?

If so what is going on with it?

If you have a picture, please e-mail it. So I can put it in the next post.

At 23 Hours: Okay, everything is beige and bubbly. It now looks how I thought it might. I have had a beast of a time keeping the darn thing warm enough. Temp came down, stopped bubblin’. Temp at 85, happy starter. Very strange creature is this sour dough. I guess we will see tomorrow night.

Gave it a little stir since it looked a little… separated.

At 29 hours: Beautiful bubbles..like beige whipped cream that you are blowing bubbles in with a straw.

Post mortem note:

There, right there at 29 bubbly, frothy hours. That is where I should have used it or refrigerated it.

(Neighbor Nancy ties on her black apron to mourn the death… or perhaps, murder of her lovely sour dough starter.)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kitewrite.wordpress.com/2009/03/28/sour-dough-challenge-15hrs-waiting-and-peeking-in-the-bean-pot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. How cool! Sounds like it’s working. I’m loving the updates as you go along.

    I feel like there’s something especially scary about trying sourdough for the first time. Why? Don’t know. It just feels like it’s especially disaster-prone. Maybe that’s just me, though.

    Kudos to you for being game to try it out for the first time and share your results here.


Leave a Reply

