Making Do: How To Make A Double Boiler

Left: store bought double boiler. Right: homemade version that works just as lovely.

Left: store bought double boiler. Right: homemade version that works just as lovely.

Hello there!

So, you bumped into a recipe that calls for using a double boiler and your stuck. hm…

Yes, they can be expensive. And no you probably shouldn’t try that recipe without one. Usually by the time a recipe actually calls for a double boiler, it is sensitive enough to need one.

Here’s what to do:

Grab a relatively small sauce pot and find a heat safe bowl that will fit on top of it. When you fill the bottom ( the boiler part of you double boiler ) make sure that the water line is well below the bowl as it sits on top. It is the steam or heat from the water that warms the bowl and not the actual water.

I have functioned without a double boiler for years. Only recently did I receive one as a Christmas gift. While it is very nice, it tends to live in the back of the cabinet. If I am in a rush, I still just plop a bowl on top of whatever pot is closest at hand.

If you require a lid, any one that fits is fine or just try placing a plate on top.

Making do made easy. Tada!

BTW, you’ll need a double boiler for tonight’s Great Depression Recipe: Rhubarb Tapioca.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kitewrite.wordpress.com/2009/05/06/making-do-how-to-make-a-double-boiler/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for that link.
    And fear not. More rhubarb info will show up in the next week.

  2. Okay Neighbor Nancy, I found the link to the rhubarb recipe from smitten kitchen. Like I said, I haven’t used the recipe, but everyone keeps going on & on about it, so it’s probably good. Anytime there are great reviews it makes me wanna try. So, here’s the link:
    http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/02/big-crumb-coffee-cake/

    By the way, thank you very much for the tips on how to “harvest” rhubarb, you’re the best!

  3. I think there are maybe 10 or 12 plants, but I’m not sure. I harvest all along and freeze or use in recipe size batches. You’ll see a post coming on it.
    Never harvest more than 1/4 of the stalks in one shot, so photosynthesis can keep the plant thriving.
    Can I have the link to Smitten Kitchen?
    It sounds like we need to put a link to it in this week’s “Neighborly Advice”

  4. howdy there, neighbor nancy! good article! I’ve been making do without a double boiler for many years myself & have no intention whatsoever of getting one at this point. I am looking forward to your rhubarb tapioca. Do you have a big rhubarb patch at your house? I always seem to think about using my rhubarb and I always wait until I think all the stalks are big enough & then I end up not using it that year & saying better luck next year… Now that I think about it, it would probably be better to go ahead & get the stalks that are big enough now & use them. Then I can go back & get more later, right? I know I have to leave some of the stalks on the plant so that it will come back again next year… this plant has been there for over 10 years though (probably 20 but that’s when I wasnt here). Anyway, I think I want to make rhubarb jam or jelly this year maybe. If there’s enough rhubarb for it. And of course, I’m going to do your rhubarb crisp recipe too. Actually, if you want to check it out, there’s a recipe on smitten kitchen’s blog for “big crumb rhubarb coffee cake” (I think that’s what it’s called) and it sounds very good too, in case you want to try it. Thanks for all you do! Can’t wait to hear what’s going on in the neighborhood next!


Leave a Reply

