Planting Soybeans (Edamame) Quick Guide

Just a quickie about planting soybeans (edamame ) in the garden.

Soybean (edamame) spacing —  After last frost at about the same time as corn

If possible, soak seeds overnight to help germination.

Saying is: “if it is dry don’t even try.”

Plant about 1″deep.

In containers: 2″ spacing

In Rows: 6-10 seeds per foot with 15-30″ between rows

Intensive deep bed: Spread (scatter) seeds evenly to create about 3-4″ between plants in any direction  ( This one is an estimate.  It leaves more spacing due to lack of rows, but also nearly eliminates the need to weed after decent leaf developement

Square foot: 16 per square  ( possibly more )

Farm seeding rate: 80 pounds per acre

For higher yield and more nitrogen for the soil, try inoculating them.  Outstanding for crop rotation or in the planting season before introducing an orchard.

Sorry just a quickie, but I kept getting searches for this. In my zone, this is still 3 week away in my notes.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kitewrite.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/planting-soybeans-edamame-quick-guide/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I found my seeds online at azuredandelion.com

  2. The tiny seed packets can be a bit tough to find… Try Peaceful Valley, which can be found at http://www.groworganic.com.. organic, regular they’ve got it all. They market toward larger gardens and farms however a little site digging or a simple phone call might get you the exact amount you want.

  3. I want to plant some in a container + take it from Mi. to Fl. with me in the winter but I cannot find them in the Gr. Rapids, Mi. area -would you tell me where I might find them here?

  4. Never heard that! 🙂 I eat ’em as I pick and I don’t seem to be dead yet Delicious. However, raw soybeans should not be fed to laying hens. Humans yes, chickens no

  5. IS IT TRUE RAW GARDEN GROWN SOYBEANS EDAMAAME ARE TOXIC????? MY GRANDAUGHTER LOVES TO EAT THEM RAW!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

