Neighborhood Questions — Harvesting Mulberries and Rhubarb Jam

Grab a glass of Strawberry Lemonade from the frig and join your neighbors at the picnic table.

Today Jen Neff has posed our topic of discussion.

Please share any thoughts, experiences, rumors and here say on the following question:

I have a big old mulberry tree & the birds are having a hey day over it already. Are you familiar with mulberries (some people are not)? Well, they are very sweet, so I assume that I will probably be able to half the sugar content for the jelly… I don’t know. My big problem is harvesting them. It is a BIG tree. So, one year I put down like 6 full size sheets all around the tree & they drop down onto the sheet throughout the day & I went out to get them that night. I could just do that again, but I’m wondering in all of your expertise if you have any advise for me about collecting those berries. As I said, it is an OLD tree & I don’t want to be banging around the branches because they could just go flying off if I’m not careful… What do you think about making a rhubarb jam or jelly? ever heard of such a thing (without anything else added like strawberries?)

Here’s what I’ve heard:

Put sheets underneath.  Shove a garden rake up into the branches and shake, shake, shake.  Just a rumor though.

CLick here for more rhubarb info than you could ever possibly deal with

Now what other thoughts do you guys have for Jen?

And who has some good rhubarb recipes to share?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kitewrite.wordpress.com/2009/06/13/neighborhood-questions-harvesting-mulberries-and-rhubarb-jam/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve got a good recipe for Rhubarb-Ginger Jam, as well as a Rhubarb BBQ Sauce that’s been earning rave reviews:

    http://localkitchen.wordpress.com/category/fruit/rhubarb/

  2. oh my goodness, neighbor nancy! i’m really blushing all the way to my ears now, serious flushing…
    wow, thanks. you’re really something, you know that?
    love, Jen


Leave a Reply

