Strawberry-Rhubarb Jam — without added pectin

Good morning. I’m glad you could join me. Grab an old apron from the linen closet and join me to make delicious Strawberry Rhubarb Jam.

If you are new to jam making, you might want to skim the Jam tutorials first. The links are at the bottom.

Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

Ingredients:

3 cups Strawberries, hulled and mashed

3 cups rhubarb, finely diced

5 cups of sugar

Procedure:

1. Mash berries and dices rhubarb.

Mash the strawberries to extract all their lovely flavor. Using a very sharp knife, cut up the rhubarb into tiny pieces.

2. Mix strawberries and rhubarb with the sugar in a large pot.

It may seem silly , but a large pasta pot is best to avoid a big boiled over mess.

3. Cook to a rolling boil, stirring frequently.

4. At rolling boil, reduce temperature to keep the mixture boiling– just not too furiously.

Cook forever, maybe 30 or 40 minutes, while you only scrape the sides and checking that the bottom is not sticking.

5. Check for sheeting

When the jam pulls together in a thick gloppy drip, remove from heat.

6. Skim any foam.

7. Put in sterilized canning jars.

8. Process for 20 minutes.

Don’t forget to add 1 additional minute of water bath time for every 1000 ft. you are above sea level.

Other tutorials in the easy canning series:

How To Make Jam β€” A Beginner Tutorial

How To Make Jam β€” The Canning Supplies

How To Make Jam β€” The Easy Canning Process

How to Raw Pack Fruit With Simple Syrup

Strawberry Lemonade

Blubarb Jam — Blueberry Rhubarb Jam without added pectin

If you are a jam maker stopping in for a visit, how does your recipe differ? We are always open to hints, and recommendations.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kitewrite.wordpress.com/2009/06/18/strawberry-rhubarb-jam-without-added-pectin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hello – A quick question,

    If I am just make a small amount of jam (say one jar’s worth) do I need to go through the whole sterilization process? I am planning on making a small amount of jam (because I have a small amount of rhubarb from a CSA) and was planning to eat it and store it in the fridge right away. Can I just put the fresh jam in an old store-bought jam jar instead of buying all the canning supplies?

    Thanks.

  2. Am trying the rhubarb jam recipe today!

  3. […] recipe adapted from Recession Depression Therapy […]

  4. Great easy to follow step by step instructions.
    Thankyou!

  5. Excellent Post! The jam sound *really* good! Thanks!

  6. I just made strawberry rhubarb last night. I made it with sure jell just because it was late. I usually prefer not using an added pectin but as it was already 9:30 I decided to go the quicker route.

    Using sure jell makes it go faster and I have never made jam with rhubarb before and I was not totally positive it would set. Now I’ll know it can be done.

    Thanks for your nice comments on my website!
    SimplyCanning.com


Leave a comment