Field Trip: Pottery in th Poconos with Neighbor Nancy


Hi there! I’m so glad you dropped by. Grab a travel mug of coffee and buckle up.

Pickles, sauerkraut and fermenting. Oh my!

Pickles, sauerkraut, pickled eggs and fermenting. Oh my!

Since the garden is too wet, we are going on a field trip. Yes, you will need to pack a picnic as there is a charming wooded park with a nifty suspension bridge.

We might even engage in a game of Pooh Sticks, if you’re feeling a little young at heart.

In Cresco, PA, on Rt. 191 is my favorite once-every-other-year field trip. Holley Ross Pottery.

Some of the fun is getting there over wiggly back road, some is the lovely park to walk through, but my favorite part is pottery produced on site. Of course, the absolute best is their “seconds.”

(sigh) Yes, I would like that whole shelf, please.

(sigh) Yes, I would like that whole shelf, please.

This time, I have saved my pennies for crocks for fermenting pickles and sauerkraut.

Having used a ten gallon beast, I am looking for three and five gallon alternatives.

Also, perhaps another bean pot, like the one hiding behind the pitcher on the right would be great for my sour dough starter.

Lots and lots of strawberry from little ones for a windowsill to giants for the terrace.

Lots and lots of strawberry from little ones for a windowsill to giants for the terrace. Yes, that price on the "second biggest pot" stack at the left is $6.95

Next, we head into the sun room full of gardening pottery. There are pots so tiny you could use them as a thimble. And pots so giant you could cork them up and bathe your five year old in them. With strawberry pots in four sizes, bird baths, statues and so on, your garden will love you.

A little eye candy, esp. for my old school chum, Franc, a Fiesta ware collector, who really needs to come in for a visit.

A little eye candy, esp. for my old school chum, Franc, a Fiesta ware collector, who really needs to come in for a visit.

For the collector, they also carry loads of Polish Pottery, Fenton glass, all sorts of china and of course, a huge array of colorful Fiesta ware at prices much lower than anywhere.

So, If you are driving through the Poconos and feel like a little diversion, drop in for a visit. Even I, who hates to shop can be entertained be all there is to look at. And when the beautiful 3 gallon crock is only 20 bucks, you can be sure it is coming home with me for fall pickling.

(Neighbor Nancy takes a long sip from her new giant hand-painted mug, lovingly rescued from a bargain box. She reties her garden apron and heads out to trellis the raspberries.)

Maybe later, I’ll offer you some recipes for all those hardboiled eggs that you might have hanging around.

So, what treasure would you want to buy for your projects?