For the Grill: Honey Mustard Chicken


Hi there. I’m glad you stopped by.

I’m just headed back to the fire pit. Why don’t you join me?!

Today, I’ll be grilling up some chicken.

Honey Mustard Chicken

1/2 cup of mayonaisse or salad dressing

2 Tablespoons of a Dijon-type mustard

2 Tablespoons of honey

4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves ( that’s around 1 1/4 pounds)

Mix the mayo mustard and honey.

Toss in the chicken and stir it around so each piece is covered with the mixture.

When the coal are glowing nicely, place the dipped chicken on the lightly greased grill. Please, grease the grill before you start the fire so you get to keep you eyebrows.

Grill for 8 to 10 minutes then flip and cook until the juices run clear. ( Around 8 to 10 minutes more)

Another way to tell the coals are the right temperature for this:

Hold your hand about 5″ above the cooking surface. If you can hold your hand there comfortably for about 4 or 5 seconds, throw on the chicken.

What is your favorite thing to grill?

Cleaning Quick Tip: Wood Stain All Over … Me!


Well, hi there. Here’s a little quickie I discovered after I made a giant mess of … myself.

On its back, the freshly stained bracket awaits the next step.

On its back, the freshly stained bracket awaits the next step.

A friend, who is a talented wood worker, made me a lovely bracket for my grain mill. I had been aching to mount it on the wall in the kitchen, but was afraid I might rip the whole wall down, if I did it myself.

My job was to finish it. I applied the wood conditioner, then the cherry stain.

Well, there weren’t any gloves around and I was very eager to finish my part so that it could be mounted.

I’m sure you can imagine just how messy a novice stainer might get. Oh, I was now a lovely cherry color thoroughly past my wrists.

Now what?

When I got to the sink I stood there a moment contemplating. Then I spied the salt that was not put in the cabinet earlier. Salt is supposed to absorb things, right?  You bet!

So with a few drop of dish detergent and about a tablespoon of salt, I easily scrubbed away all that cherry stain soaked into my skin.

I was shocked and thrilled.

So the next time you get over eager with the wood stain, remember….

Cum Grano Salis